Sunday, 25 June 2017

Referee admits to making shocking decision that all-but cost Barcelona the La Liga title



A SPANISH referee has admitted to making shocking a decision that all-but cost Barcelona the La Liga title in 2016-17.

Alejandro Hernandez made an horrific decision as Lionel Messi and Co dropped two points against Real Betis in January.


Hernandez somehow failed to award a goal as a deflected Aleix Vidal cross crossed the line by at least a whole metre.

Luis Suarez popped up in the dying seconds to equalise for Barcelona, but were left furious as they lost ground on eventual champions Real Madrid.

The result left them four points behind Zinedine Zidane‘s men – having played an extra game too.

On the incident Hernandez said: “When you make a decision and see the images you are very touched, because your professional prestige as a referee is at stake.

“It was a very clear decision but with three people in front of me, I could not see [what was happening].

“I understand the anger of a lot of people, but it was impossible for me to see it.

“It happened very quickly and my assistant could not see it and I could not help him.

“It leaves you with an unpleasant taste in the mouth and is a mistake that stays with you, because every time you have a challenge ahead of you, this will come to light.”

The Spanish top flight is the only of Europe’s “Big Five” leagues NOT to have goal-line technology last season.

While La Liga officials stubbornly claim they will not be looking into it, more decisions such as this could quickly change their mind.
Download Newsalert NG MobileApp

Like what you've read?Subscribe to Newsalert NG by Email to Receive Update

JOIN OUR FREE BBM CHANNEL FOR INSTANT UPDATE>> CLICK HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment

For Inquiries/Tipoff olevsalenco2009@gmail.com - Call 07030205762
Twitter-@Babawalexy9ja
Instagram-Babawalexy9ja

Designed by Newsalert NG.